Big Train Players on the Road to Omaha

by Ian Domeika

The colleges of current Big Train players and alumni will be well represented in the 2024 NCAA College Baseball Championship. This year's tournament will include the colleges of eighteen of Bethesda’s current players. Two Power Five schools highlight the list this year, along with two conference champions and an all-around plethora of talent. The players and their schools are as follows: 

East Carolina University* (43-15) (Greenville Regional) 

Kenan Bowman, 2B/SS, Sophomore, Statistics: Did not appear   

Parker Thomas, RHP, Sophomore, Statistics: Did not appear  

Davin Whittaker, OF, Sophomore, Statistics: Did not appear 

James Madison University (34-23) (Raleigh Regional) 

Jack Guerrero, 3B/1B, Junior, Statistics: 14 AB/7H/5R/.500 AVG 

Kevin Scully, RHP, Junior, Statistics: Did not appear  

Tulane University (35-24) (AAC Champions) (Corvallis Regional) 

Will Clements, RHP, Senior, Statistics: 17.1IP/14K/21H 

     Christopher Diaz, OF, Redshirt Freshman, Statistics: Did not appear   

University of Alabama (33-22) (Tallahassee Regional) 

Jackson Baker, RHP, Sophomore, Statistics: 1IP/1K/0H 

Jansen Kenty, RHP, Sophomore, Statistics: 10IP/4K/6H 

Jonathon Stevens, RHP, Sophomore, Statistics: Did not appear 

Ariston Veasey, RHP, Sophomore, Statistics: 2BB 

University of Central Florida (35-19) (Tallahassee Regional) 

Andrew Williamson, OF, Sophomore, Statistics: 141 AB/37H/27R/4HR/.262AVG 

     Joey Wimpelberg, OF, Sophomore, Statistics .1IP/1H 

University of Kentucky* (40-14) (Lexington Regional) 

Landon Franklin, INF, Freshman, Statistics: Did not appear 

Evan Hart, LHP, Sophomore, Statistics: Did not appear  

Jake Titus, RHP, Sophomore, Statistics: 2.2IP/2K/6H 

Josh Skowronski, INF/OF, Sophomore, Statistics: Did not appear  

University of North Carolina Wilmington (39-19) (CAA Champions) (Athens Regional) 

Jordan Capuano, RHP, Sophomore, Statistics: .2IP/2SO/0H 



Along with these new stars, thirteen Bethesda alumni will also be on the field throughout this summer. Many of them made key plays for the Big Train en route to last year’s Cal Ripken League Championship win. They are as follows:  

Luke Nowak, East Carolina University, OF, Big Train ‘22 

Erik Ritchie: East Carolina University, LHP, Big Train ‘22 

Dixon Williams: East Carolina University, OF, Big Train ‘23 

Todd Mazoki: James Madison University, RHP, Big Train ‘22 

Jason Schiavone: James Madison University, C, Big Train ‘22, ‘23 

Zeb Ruddell: Louisiana State University, OF, Big Train ‘23 

Kade Woods: Louisiana State University, RHP, Big Train ‘22 

Garrett Felix: Nicholls State University, INF, Big Train ‘22 

Connor Rasmussen: Tulane University, IF, Big Train ‘23 

Connor Ball: University of Alabama, LHP, Big Train ‘23 

Austin Morris: University of Alabama, RHP, Big Train ‘23 

Émilien Pitre: University of Kentucky, INF, Big Train ‘22 

Jeffery Heard: University of Oregon, OF, Big Train ‘23 


 Most of the regional round games will be broadcasted on ESPN networks.   

It may be the end of the collegiate season, but it's just the start here at Shirley Povich Field. The Big Train takes the field for the first time this summer in an exhibition game against the Southern Maryland Senators, this Friday at 7 p.m.! 



*= Hosting 1st round of the NCAA Tournament.